The first journey... - Reisverslag uit Kunming, China van Ivar Vierbergen - WaarBenJij.nu The first journey... - Reisverslag uit Kunming, China van Ivar Vierbergen - WaarBenJij.nu

The first journey...

Door: Me.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ivar

07 November 2017 | China, Kunming

So here it was, traveling to another continent for the first time! And not for no reason, I will do volunteering work in Vientiane, the main capital of Laos.

When I was at the airport last Monday in Amsterdam and said goodbye to my family I felt a little ''well here I go'' because you don't know what to expect and you know what they said: always expect the unexpected! And so I did... my first flight was the longest one, I flew from Amsterdam to Shanghai which was kinda 14 hours straight sittin and chillin, at least they had some of my favorite movies! Oh I had a happy flight for sure :)

As we landed in Shanghai it was 6:55 in the morning and back at home it was 6 hours earlier, it's a strange thing when you fly into time for the first time, but it's also kinda funny. I haven't that many thoughts of China or how it would look like, the people are VERY reserved and kinda straight forward. And I had never so much passport checks as in Shanghai... that was new for me. I think they must have been sure that I was not an immigrant, no worries China, I was on a transit to Vientiane anyways!

From Shanghai I went on a 2,5 hour flight to Kunming which is in the Yunan area (southern China) I don't know what it was but this flight was way more boring then the first one. I was not aloud to put my phone on and play some music, and on the tv's there was some bad Chinese comedy with English subtitles but WAY to SMALL to read! :( The food was pretty nice though!

Arrived in Kunming and still save, luckily this was the airport where I could chill for 16 hours because my last flight to Vientiane did not left till the next morning... as I was searching myself an accident for money exchange and the airport hotel I realise that the Chinese staff on this airport where helpful but they did challenge you to figure it out yourself :P or something like that. Well I had all the time in the world so that wasn't much of a problem. When I finally did find the airport hotel I couldn't be more happy! Also, I did meet some cool peeps on this airport and they where more helpful then the Chinese, thank you my dear Canadian and Australian friends! No offense China, I still love you but please just check your customer service some more :)

After a nice Mcmeal and a good movie (Everest) I went to sleep finally... a new day was coming:)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ivar

Mooie boel in Laos!

Actief sinds 11 Nov. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 754
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1424

Voorgaande reizen:

06 November 2017 - 10 Maart 2018

A little taste out here!

Landen bezocht: